Padsicles – the only item you place in the postpartum ward fridge that other people won’t eat!

Padsicles

Everyone warned me about the morning sickness that comes before a baby and the sleep deprivation that comes afterwards but people tend to gloss over the actual nitty-gritty details about giving birth – things that a lady should really be told.

So to be blunt…

1) It hurts like hell and no amount of hypnobirth app training will dull this pain. (No I could not visualize my body opening up like a lotus flower – it felt more like being ripped apart on a medieval breaking wheel! – anyone who tells you otherwise is either lying or actually had an epidural that worked)

2) You do not exactly forget the labour pain when they place your little miracle on your chest…in fact you are reminded of it every time you sit, go to the bathroom, sneeze or cough.

3) There will likely be some damage down there that will require stitches and it will take a couple of weeks for this to heal.

Welcome to motherhood!

One thing I am glad I discovered on the internet before I delivered was something called padsicles! – not as delicious as popsicles…but almost as satisfying.

“What are padsicles?” you might ask… they are maxi pads treated with various healing ingredients and then frozen. When the time comes (and it will!) you pop one out of the freezer and use it as you would a regular maxi – only this frozen one helps to bring down swelling, disinfect and heal your lady parts so that you can maybe one day not want to strangle your husband or partner when 5 minutes after you give birth they announce how the baby can’t grow up an only child and absolutely needs a little brother or sister.

There are all sorts of DIY padsicle recipes and instruction videos you can google online so I won’t add to the clutter. I’ll just say that I was so thankful to come across these two great blogs, their padsicle recipes, and step-by-step instructions.

http://www.modernalternativemama.com/

http://intheknowmom.net/

I ended up using this recipe because it described the healing properties of each of the 4 essential oils used. (Calming swelling, cellular regeneration, scar prevention, disinfectant, muscle strengthening etc.) Plus my best friend works for a natural health company so I can purchase the essential oils at a major discount.

But if you don’t feel like forking over tons of money for essential oils you’ll only be using a couple of drops of, this simpler recipe requiring only lavender essential oil is just as good.

Plus the lavender essential oil can also be used to make several natural creams, soaps & oils for the little one (as it is safe for newborns)

Any health food store should have all the ingredients needed to make the pads – just be sure to get 100% witch hazel as opposed to the one at the pharmacy that is mixed with alcohol.

If you’ve got the time to whip up a batch of padsicles prior to delivering, I highly recommend it!

They would also make a pretty awesome DIY baby shower gift!

4 thoughts on “Padsicles – the only item you place in the postpartum ward fridge that other people won’t eat!

  1. Pingback: DIY organic baby products – if you can make Kraft Dinner, you can make this! | Homefront Dispatches

  2. I bought the 100% pure essentail oils but the disclaimer on all of them says not use use while nursing and also not to use on mucus membranes (also says it can irritate skin). Any advise on this? now Im a bit worried. Don’t want anything irritating the urinary tract, or anything in that area for that matter, after such a big event! LOL

    Thanks!

    Like

    • Hi Megan and thanks for your comment. I understand your concern when reading labels. You can never be too cautious! I’m not a doctor so I can’t offer professional advice. I’d therefore suggest you check with your doctor just to be sure. I used the Aromaforce brand of essential oils. The labels on these ones either said “Avoid if pregnant” (Which I would not be by the time I used the padsicles) or “Consult a healthcare professional if pregnant, nursing, or taking medication.” Here is a link listing which oils should be avoided in pregnancy and while breastfeeding. I am currently breastfeeding Sweet Pea and have had no issue. I know that essential oils cannot be used directly on the skin and have to be “watered down” – this would be the case with the witch hazel and aloe vera that the recipe calls for. You can also just make the simpler recipe I linked to above. (It only calls for Lavender essential oil)I’ve checked various sites on the internet about which oils are safe for newborns, and lavender is one of the oils mentioned. (some sites said lavender was ok from 0 months onwards and others said from 3 months +). It is up to you what you are most comfortable with. I made a series of DIY baby products for Sweet Pea and used Lavender essential oil in them without issue. You can also forego the essential oils altogether and just use Witch hazel and aloe vera – this will still help with your postpartum healing. Best of luck with your delivery and new addition to the family!

      Like

      • Thank you so much for your response!!

        This is actually really helpful. I’ll run it by my midwife when I see her later this week and see what she says. But I feel pretty comfortable using all these ingredients provided others didn’t have much of an issue with them. I LOVE the idea of using the leftover lavender oil for DIY products for the babe!

        Anyways, thanks again for your insight. I really appreciate it!

        Megan

        >

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

